Friday 2nd November 2018

Tom Hardy – UCFB Sports Business & Media student 2018

British sprinter Dina Asher-Smith has seen off competition from Lizzy Yarnold and Katie Archibald to be named the Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year at Thursdays award ceremony in London.

The award follows a stellar year on the track for Asher-Smith as she was crowned European champion in the 100m, 200m and 4 x 100m relay. She also holds the British record in all three of those disciplines, with this award following up on her award of Young Sportswoman of the Year in 2015.

The London born athlete will be targeting continued success of the back of her most promising year yet as she establishes herself as one of the Britains main medal hopes at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Elsewhere, 22- year old golfer Georgia Hall, who became only the third Brit to win the British open since it became recognised as a major championship in 2001, scooped the Young Sportswomen of the Year award.

The England netball team claimed Team of the Year after being rewarded for their memorable victory over Australia to see them claim their inaugural Commonwealth title.

Disability Sportswoman of the Year went to winter Paralympian Menny Fitzpatrick and guide Jen Kehoe after winning four gold medals in Pyeongchang in March. There was a lifetime achievement award for Jennie Price CBE, whose efforts behind campaigns such as #ThisGirlCan have seen female participation numbers increase across Britain.

The Helen Rollason award, which celebrates individuals who provide inspiration went to Trish Deykin, a triathlete who has been competing since 2004 despite being diagnosed with MS. Finally, the Grassroots award went to Alex Paske, whose charity the Mintridge Foundation has impacted over 40,000 young people across the UK.